Two people stand by a lake with beautifully beaded bags.

Mapping the 

way to



Mapping the Way celebrates and raises awareness about the Yukon's modern treaties – the Final and Self-Government Agreements. Join us as we share stories of the people and events that helped map the way to a new governance landscape for all Yukoners.
First Nations Chiefs at the Parliament
On May 29, 1993, the Umbrella Final Agreement was signed by the Government of Canada, the Government of Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations. The Teslin Tlingit Council, Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation and First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun also signed their Final and Self-Government Agreements.
From the past to present

Our journey to self-government

Reaching these agreements involved decades of negotiations, hard work, innovation and commitment by leaders and visionaries.
Yukon First Nations and Yukon government leaders stand in front of the Dänojà Zho Cultural Centre in Dawson.
Working together for reconciliation

Our Governments

The Final and Self-Government Agreements were signed by 11 Yukon First Nations, the Government of Canada and the Government of Yukon. Learn more about the governments who support Mapping the Way and are working to implement these Agreements for the benefit of all Yukoners.
Betty Lucas is a fierce, independent Na-Cho Nyak Dun Elder armed with generations of knowledge passed down to her.

Our Stories

Read stories on the negotiation 

and implementation

of the Agreements